Skip to content

Chapter History

The Illustrious Iota Theta Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was chartered on May 7, 1972 as the FIRST Black Greek Letter organization at Louisiana State University by 10 strong, courageous, and dedicated women :

  • —Shyrl Patterson Bagneris
  • —Linda Harris Caldwell
  • —Sherryl Eubanks
  • —Paulette Clark Hamilton
  • —Debra Joan Hill
  • —Paula Morrison Patin
  • —Emma Green Pledger
  • —Joyce Jackson Porter
  • —Janice Raby
  • —Helen Washington

41 years Later the Illustrious Iota Theta Chapter is still committed to excellence through sisterhood, scholarship and service. Through perseverance and dedication we continue to raise the bar.


Trailblazing members include:

Renee Boutte Meyer (First Black Homecoming Queen), DawnHarris (First Black Golden Girl), ShuflondaGibson (First Miss Imani), Terrica Dyson (First Female Recipient of the Arden O’FrenchAcademy Internship) & Mamye L. Hall (CharterPresident of AP Tureaud Chapter of LSU Alumni Association).


Please Enjoy this short video which highlights our chapter!